livingloha.blogg.se

Trek stache
Trek stache












trek stache

Granted we get quite a bit of loose sandy sections which plays to it's strengths. In my particular riding area over the course of 2 hours, the fat bike would easily best the enduro on all but 10-15mins of the steepest/fastest trails.

TREK STACHE FULL

The steepest trail in the bike park is full minute faster over 8:00 mins compared to 9:20 on the Reign. However I keep reaching for the fatbike when ever I go out riding.īeing anonymous in the bike park is all but impossible, everyone wants to come up, talk about it, lift it up (14.1kg pedals on & Mastodon fork) and everyone naturally thinks it's a tank up hill just by what it looks like. thinking I would use it only for adventures. I got it after taking my Reign bike packing and *not* loving the enduro bike packing experience. Everyone who's gotten on it just grins like an idiot. Interesting things like off camber root sections there's more confidence than the skinny tyres - the lateral grip is huge with 4.8 (!!!) tyres.

trek stache

It's not exactly my cup of tea, but I still found myself thoroughly entertained every time I rode it.īigger tyres can change your perspective on riding - I went full fatty (Canyon Dude) and man, the thing is an absolute machine up climbs, between rolling over anything in sight, traction and frame stiffness - any slow technical/steep stuff just has confidence in spades compared to my enduro rig (Reign Advanced) which granted is not exactly a pedalling machine. This is a bike designed for riders with a slightly different approach to mountain biking, the adventure riders rather than the adrenaline junkies. The Full Stache isn't a bike for the masses, and it's not meant to be. Of course, I doubt that most riders who are considering adding a bike like this to their quiver have high speed cornering performance very high on their list of 'must-haves,' but it's still worth a mention. There's a noticeable amount of lateral movement from the back end, likely a combination of frame and wheel flex, and every so often it'd feel like the front end was going one way while the rear wheel still hadn't received the message. The maneuverability is there, but the precision you'd find with a typical trail bike is lacking, which can feel a little strange when really diving into a corner, or muscling through a chewed up section of trail. There is a limit to just how much you can push things, though, and hard cornering and really aggressive riding in rough terrain are when the Full Stache's limits start to appear.

trek stache

Those big wheels can generate a serious head of steam – I wouldn't have minded even larger rotors, or maybe a tiny parachute, to help keep those speeds in check. Get the Full Stache onto a high-speed straightway, and before you can blink the green machine will be rocketing down the trail like a tractor-trailor in search of a runaway truck ramp. Sure, it's more of a rock crawler than a rally car, but it's easier to maneuver through tighter sections of trail than I would have expected, in part thanks to the short chainstay length. It's hard not to laugh a little as those 3.0” tires 'blump, blump' their way over everything in their path - it's kind of like bumper bowling, where you're virtually guaranteed a strike, or in this case, to get up whatever obstacle lies ahead.įor as comically large as the Full Stache appears, it's not a cumbersome beast. There's loads of traction, and I was able to easily spin up and over sections of roots that typically require all of my concentration to successfully clean. Slower speed, chunky climbs are where the Full Stache really earns its keep. It takes a little extra effort to get the Full Stache up to speed due to the big tires and the overall weight of the bike, but once you gain some momentum it'll truck right along. Granted, the Full Stache is a different breed of bike than what I usually ride, but I have spent time on the Stache hardtail, as well as on the Salsa Deadwood, a 90mm 29+ bike, so I'm not completely unfamiliar with the whole 29+ concept. I haven't been able to take the Full Stache to anywhere quite as exotic as Argentina (the location of the riding photos featured in this article), but I have been able to get out on a few rides on my local trails.














Trek stache